Our church is led by elders and governed by members. We believe that the Bible describes 3 roles of responsibility for local communities of believers: elders/pastors, deacons, and members. Elders (also called pastors) are men responsible before God for the church’s spiritual health and ultimate oversight, including the functions of teaching and shepherding. Deacons (and deaconesses) are those who oversee various practical functions of the church’s ministry. Members are followers of Christ Jesus who are committed and submitted to the church and who serve according to their abilities. Members vote on administrative matters and also include those who serve as elders and deacons.